Our Correspondent

 

Do you remember the beauteous bimbet of Om Shanti Om or the simple, small-town girl of Toh Baat Pakki? Well, Yuvika Chowdhury hasn’t exactly stormed Bollywood with these films but the pretty actress thinks she will make her presence felt with her latest film Naughty @40, where she will be seen with Govinda. She is no star kid and feels luck has played a big factor for her in getting a foothold in Bollywood. Excerpts:

Tell us something about the film…
It’s a comedy but not the slapstick kind. The film has a strong storyline, tight script and funny dialogues. It’s situational comedy and I can promise the audience that there won’t be forced laughs.

How did you bag the role?
Initially, Ayesha Takia and Amrita Rao were being considered for the role but later, I got into the scheme of things. I didn’t even have to audition for the role. The producer-director duo liked my performance in Toh Baat Pakki and I was finalised. The director (Jagmohan Mundhra) thought I suited the character.

Tell us something about your role…
I play a small-town girl who is very naïve and immature. She is like a child who looks at the world with rose-tinted glasses.

How are you feeling being paired opposite ‘comedy king’ Govinda?
Initially I was very nervous. But Govinda did everything possible to make me feel comfortable. He is very kind and humble. He loves to crack jokes on the sets and his presence makes a lot of difference. But when he is giving a take, he is a different person altogether. He never forgets his lines and is a through professional. I forgot my lines and fumbled a few times but he was very supportive. I am glad I got to work with him. It was a great learning experience.

Are you not worried about the age difference with your hero?
I knew this was coming. Yes, there’s a huge age difference but as I said before, he made things comfortable. After all, age is just a number. We actually behaved like kids and had loads of fun on the sets.

What are your favourite Govinda films?
There are so many it’s difficult to single one out. I loved Coolie No.1 and Partner a lot.

Mundhra is known for making hard-hitting films. But this time around he is doing a comedy…
Yes, you will get to see another side of him in this film.

What is your dream role?
I don’t have any dream role as such. Give me good banners and I am game for anything.

